Is This IT?

The Courage to Jump Off the Corporate Ladder

I’d achieved everything and more professionally.

But I felt empty and disconnected from myself.

I had money, title, position - all the things we strive for as we step onto the corporate ladder early in our career.

We ‘think’ we want these things because society tells us that’s what success looks like.

I had traveled internationally, had an office and lived in Manhattan, worked with many of the world’s largest brands, and helped three startups grow to acquisition.

But the sacrifices I made along the way ultimately took a toll on my happiness and fulfillment in life.

When I was leaving my last executive agency role, I shared with someone I was mentoring that I would be leaving the agency.

Their response was shock along with something akin to, ‘Why? Everyone (many people) would want your job. You’re at the pinnacle.”

My response was, ‘Yeah, and I’m ready to jump.”

The saying ‘all that glitters isn’t gold’ is 1000% true.

I was making multiple six-figures, so money was not the issue.

The truth was - nothing I was doing felt meaningful or fulfilling anymore.

I was being called in new directions and into unchartered territory.

Toward the end of my corporate career, I became a certified professional coach while working fulltime as a Sr. Partner and Managing Director for a large ad agency in New York City. Those 9-months while becoming a certified coach, were the most fulfilling that I’d experienced in a long time.

That was the beginning of me expanding my skillset and investing time into additional training that was deeply interesting and felt right deep in my soul.

I've continued layering skills on top of my advertising, marketing, business, entrepreneurial and coaching expertise.

The important thing is to keep growing and learning and do not stay stuck where you are if you're not happy and fulfilled.

Jobs and corporate roles can be like spider webs - the further you go, the more difficult it is to get out or get unstuck. It’s doable because I did it and many others have done it too.

But it requires commitment, effort, faith, and belief that you can and will do it. No matter what.

Our initial programming, before we develop discernment, puts us on a trajectory that has our life mapped out for us.

As the saying goes, “If you don’t have a plan for your life, someone else will.”

The old paradigm tells us to go to school, get a good job, and work until retirement.

The ‘work’ involves making the company you work for more wealthy, while the employee competes for a set salary pool of annual increases - if they ‘work hard enough.’

The whole system is set up to entice the employee to work beyond what the job requires “if” you want to get promoted, get a salary increase, and most importantly - have any sense of ‘job security.’

Ah, the old ‘job security’ fallacy. Above-and-beyond behaviors tend to be used as examples of what you do to get promoted or get recognized as a stellar employee.

Being the first one in the office and last one to leave. Taking on work above and beyond your role were surefire ways to get recognized and rewarded.

Most companies have employee incentive programs of some sort, with the intention of encouraging employees and especially over achievers, to go above-and-beyond for recognition and rewards.

Incentive programs and employee reviews warrants its own newsletter. The whole system and process is designed to get you hooked as an employee. Chasing that carrot - getting that paycheck, on the hamster wheel.

Once you get out of the system, you can clearly see how it takes a mental shift and a commitment to your freedom to break out on your own.

The system is set up to keep you dependent on a paycheck and what has become familiar or ‘comfortable.’ I call it wage slavery and others experience it as their comfort zone.

However, once you get out of your comfort zone, you realize how uncomfortable it really was.

We all have the opportunity to trade familiar and what seems safe, for opportunities to live our lives pursuing and creating work that lights us up.

I can write about all of this because I lived it for over three decades. I was the best corporate citizen - until I’d had enough and my heart and soul could no longer do it.

Of course, jumping off the corporate ladder is not without its challenges. But, I would take the challenges any day over living asleep at the wheel doing work that no longer inspired me.

Even though at the end of my career I was making a high salary with the proverbial golden handcuffs, I never liked someone else determining my financial worth through an annual salary review.

As you step out on your own there may be financial struggles, moments of self-doubt, and the need to navigate uncharted territory. But the benefits far outweigh the difficulties.

It can also can be financially lucrative, and worth every ounce of effort to have the freedom to work on what you want, when you want, with people you choose, for what you feel your expertise is worth.

In the end, the courage to jump off the corporate ladder is about more than just a career change. It’s about having the bravery to listen to your heart, to take calculated risks in pursuit of a more authentic and fulfilling life.

I am passionate about helping you take the steps to be free too. If you’ve been thinking about it or are ready to take that next step, you can get my Transition to Work You Love guide here.

I have started a Be Free Community where we can connect and lend support with other like-minded individuals in the pursuit of a more rewarding life lived on your terms.

I have other things in the works that you’ll be seeing rollout soon. As a newsletter subscriber, you’ll get advance notice once they’re available.

I’ve taken the steps that got me out of my corporate role into work I love. I lay out what I did step-by-step so you can quickly be generating income and have the life you once dreamed of.

For more inspiration to live authentically and pursue work you love visit my: You Can Be Free YouTube channel.

Until next time,

LuRae

p.s. To the Moms out there - Happy Mother’s Day